20 Things You Need to Share With Your Teen

I love this list and wish I could take credit for creating it….But, I have to give credit to Leslie Welch, a mother who obviously knows just what the rest of us parents are going through. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did. Feel free to add your “things to share with your teen.”

 

20 things you need to share with your HS or middle school child

by Leslie Welch on Tuesday, December 6, 2011 at 7:38pm

1.         Yes, your freshman year counts towards your GPA for college  entrance.  Screw it up and you’ll work for crap wages your whole life.

2.        No means NO.  In every possible circumstance.

3.        Join every sport, every club, every after school activity no matter what the cost.  It’s cheaper than bail.

4.        Repeat after me: I am never in that much of a hurry…I am  never in that much of a hurry.   Now say that every time you get behind  the wheel. It will save your life and that of your best friend in the  seat next to you.

5.        Don’t smoke pot.  It ruins your short term memory. (Did I already say that?)

6.        Don’t ever get a credit card.  Ever.  You earn it or you live without it.

7.        If I yell at you, it’s because I love you.  And also, because  you pissed me off.    To avoid the latter, stop being an idiot.

8.        Make a vivid picture inside your head of every great moment  of your childhood.   You’ll need those to get through adulthood.

9.        Make snow angels as often as possible.

10.      Stand up for those who can’t stand up for themselves.

11.      Be always benevolent.  Yes, that’s a word.  Look it up.

12.      Call me for a ride even if you are so drunk you barely know my  number.  I’ll probably be mad for a while but I’ll respect you for  calling and I won’t kill you.  Riding with someone who is drinking will.

13.      Be a leader, not a follower. Unless you are doing stupid things, then follow the kid with the highest GPA.

14.      Love your siblings, even when you don’t like them.  Some day  you will be trying to get them to take care of me in my old age.  If  they are mad at you, you are stuck with me.

15.      I’ve been  there, done that on more things than you can imagine.  I’m not stupid  and I know what you are doing.  I was once you (times ten).

16.      Work hard at everything you do.  Anything worth doing is worth doing your best   at.

17.      Cover it.  (Enough said.)

18.      When I tell you to clean your room, do not point at my messy  room and raise    your eyebrows.  I’m trying to raise you to be better  than me.

19.      Learn to type; to budget; and to pray.  All are equally important.

20.      Never be sedentary.  Some day soon you will no longer be able to move like that.  Enjoy it.

About raisingteensblogger

I'm a crazed mother of three, Journalist, PTA volunteer. I aspire to be as cool as Kelly Ripa, as fit as Gwyenth Paltrow and as carefree as Lucille Ball.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 20 Things You Need to Share With Your Teen

  1. Herronia says:

    Thank you. Now I don’t feel so alone in my battle! : )

Leave a Reply

