Why I love MTV’s Awkward

If you haven’t seen an episode yet of MTV’s Awkward, you should.

Yes, it’s ANOTHER show about the high school years –complete with love triangles and mean girls. And, like most shows based on the high school years, you’ve got your popular jocks and your lonely geeks. But what I love about this teen series is that the star of the show, Jenna Hamilton,  doesn’t fit into any single social clique. She’s, well….awkward.

The Hollywood Reporter said the comedy premiered to 1.7 viewers and its pilot sets the tone for just how awkward life will get for Jenna when her high school pals believe an epic accident was really a suicide attempt.

Ashley Rickards, who plays Jenna, says: The “theme of the show is, you can’t change what happens to you, but you can change the way you feel about it.”

Here’s MTV’s description: Narrated in the first-person voice of Jenna’s blog posts, “Awkward.” captures the humor within the struggles and experiences everyone can relate to from their formative years. From a secret relationship with a popular guy, to being undermined by a mean girl, and parents who just don’t get it – Jenna’s misfortune will eventually serve as the catalyst for amazing change, but it’s not without some missteps and mishaps along the way.

I particularly like that Jenna is a teenager who moms can relate to…she’s constantly embarrassed by her mom’s behavior, yet she still wants to please her mom.

I may get grief for this, but I also like the story line about Jenna having sex with the popular guy, Matty. I realize I shouldn’t be endorsing a teenager having sex in high school. But, I do like the lesson Jenna’s mistakes might teach young girls: when Jenna has sex with popular Matty, she assumes he will want a relationship. She comes to realize, he wants a private sexual relationship, but he doesn’t want to be seen with her in public. The series is just beginning to reveal how she will deal with this situation – so far, she’s trying desperately (and awkwardly) to show him she’s girlfriend material.

I think it’s great for girls to learn at a young age that sex and love aren’t always the same thing…it’s a great conversation starter for a parent and teen.

Now, I must disclose a drawback of Awkward is its time slot. The half-hour show airs at 11 p.m. EST on Tuesday nights I know that’s late. But there’s always the DVR.

If you’ve seen Awkward, let me know what you think. If you haven’t, you can watch prior episodes by clicking here.

About raisingteensblogger

I'm a crazed mother of three, Journalist, PTA volunteer. I aspire to be as cool as Kelly Ripa, as fit as Gwyenth Paltrow and as carefree as Lucille Ball.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I love MTV’s Awkward

  1. Jimmy says:

    I completely agree with what you said, I myself am only quite young at 22 (I wish) My younger sister informed me about this show.
    I think the show is great, funny and entertaining but after watching a few episodes I thought, is this right for a 15 year old girl to watch? Your point certainly changed my mind, I remember how high school was and it can still be hard for guys just as much as girls. This show defiantly does inform the viewer of lesions life and high school has to offer. Great post!

Leave a Reply

