My teens don’t budge when the phone rings, do yours?

A few days ago, I was clacking away on my keyboard when the house phone rang. Of course, the cordless in my home office was nowhere to be found. All my kids were home and I figured someone would answer it.

What a naive mother I am!

When I was a teenager, my sister and I would jump over the couch and knock each other out of the way in our race for the phone. Each of us wanted, needed, to be the first to answer, because we were 100 percent convinced it would be our friend or a boy calling for us.

Fast-forward to 2011….phone rings, kids don’t budge. Worse, they don’t even seem to hear it. Suddenly it hits me…they have no need to answer the house phone. In the age of cell phones, if a friend wants to reach them, they will call or text on their cell phones.  My teens’ attitude is why bother getting up from Xbox or detaching from the computer screen when the caller couldn’t possibly be for them.

“ANSWER THE PHONE,” I scream.

Only my 9-year-old seems to hear. He answers the house phone just as the answering machine picks up.

Lately, he’s been wanting a cell phone, too. Looks like I’ll be holding out a few more years. I need someone to answer the phone.

(FYI: If you haven’t read this piece by Stephen Yoder of the WSJ on the cell phone contract he made with his son, it’s worth reading. I plan to make the same contract when I finally give into the cell phone plea the third time around)

About raisingteensblogger

I'm a crazed mother of three, Journalist, PTA volunteer. I aspire to be as cool as Kelly Ripa, as fit as Gwyenth Paltrow and as carefree as Lucille Ball.
This entry was posted in Parent Perspective, Technology, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My teens don’t budge when the phone rings, do yours?

  1. Candi says:

    When this happened in my house, I decided the kids must not really want to have a phone, and I cancelled the service. I have a cell phone; we had the house phone installed for them, because we won’t give them cell phones. Now it is much quieter in my house, and I figure if they don’t like it, they can turn 18 and move out.

Leave a Reply

