Don’t touch that dial

Today, it hit me….I no longer have control over my car stereo. From the minute my teens get in the car, they are changing stations, cranking up the tunes, adjusting the fader and shoving CDs in and out of the player. Do they grow out of this stage? Will I one day reclaim my control over the dial?

Even more bothersome to me is what’s playing on my speakers. I’m no prude but have you heard some of the lyrics in today’s music? Sometimes, I don’t even realize how raunchy they are until I hear the words coming out of my kids’ mouths.  

Just the other day, a song came on radio that I’ve heard a dozen times. My kids and their friends were belting out ALL the lyrics.  They were completely different from what I was singing (a sign of old age?) Still, I wondered if any of them had a clue what the song really was about. What mother wouldn’t just adore her 14-year-old daughter singing along with Katy Perry:  “Let’s go all the way tonight.” Of course, my son sings along with Eminen, who uses the f-word at least twice in Love the Way You Lie.

Mitch Bainwol, CEO of the Recording Industry Association of America, says parents should ask our children why they like a certain song or album and what they think the artist is saying.

Here’s a scary fact: Teens whose iPods are full of music with raunchy, sexual lyrics start having sex sooner than those who prefer other songs, according to a study by Rand Corp. in Pittsburgh. Are these songs an instruction manual?

I like that my teens are on the cutting edge of music, exposing me to new groups and sounds. But I’ve decided to put up more of a fight for control my radio dial. Does that make me a good parent, or an old lady?

About raisingteensblogger

I'm a crazed mother of three, Journalist, PTA volunteer. I aspire to be as cool as Kelly Ripa, as fit as Gwyenth Paltrow and as carefree as Lucille Ball.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t touch that dial

  1. Tracy says:

    Well, you’re not an old lady, and I have thought many of the same things. Sometimes, I think about what they are singing, and I just want to scream, “NO!” But, then, I remember that we are in a time of open conversation, and these lyrics, at times, may open the door to dialogue. Donna Summer had lyrics from my childhood that I belted out with ferver…. “love to love you baby, ooohh, aah, ” and I was only 7 years old. Little did I know! We must keep control of our dials, cause there is so much we lose control of!

  2. Nancy Butler says:

    Great website…thank you

  3. TeeGirl says:

    Whenever a song comes on with lyrics that are a bit too suggestive I simply change the station. I explain to my teen that “That’s enough! I can’t stand hearing sexually explicit songs all of the time.” and then I listen to something a bit more mellow. We eventually change back to “her” station (why have all of my pre-programmed stations suddenly become “her” stations?) and after a few songs, I change it again. This is our routine. I have learned of some new groups and I do feel it keeps me abreast of what she is listening to, but there is a limit. I think we have to explain why we feel like we do so our kids will see that we are not just being a “meanie”. Music gets more explicit with every generation and I tell her that when she is my age she will also be changing the station when her kids listen to “their” music.

Leave a Reply

