Are you an embarrasing Facebook parent?

After posting a hello, welcome back from summer camp message on the Facebook wall of my daughter’s friend, I was informed that I’m an embarrassing mother.

Who knew? I’ve since learned that it’s acceptable to be friends with a teen on Facebook, but don’t dare write on their wall.

Still, I don’t think I’m quite as embarrassing as a friend of mine. As a punishment, she took away her daughter’s use of electronics –no cell, no laptop. To drive the point home, she wrote on her daughter’s Facebook wall. “Do not try to contact Susie by text or on Facebook. She is punished at this time.”

Of course, her daughter called her the most embarrassing mom in the world. I’m not sure if it’s true considering there are so many parents jockeying for the title.

About raisingteensblogger

I'm a crazed mother of three, Journalist, PTA volunteer. I aspire to be as cool as Kelly Ripa, as fit as Gwyenth Paltrow and as carefree as Lucille Ball.
This entry was posted in Social Media, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are you an embarrasing Facebook parent?

  1. Julie says:

    I’m a complete embarrassment to my kids on and off facebook! They kindly and proudly refer to me, with great affection when they boast to all their friends by saying, “Our mom’s a facebook stalker. She’s sooooo annoying!” Am I wrong if I view those beautiful words as complimentary? Haha!
    -JHallman

  2. TeeGirl says:

    I am only when prompted to do so. If I see a post that my daughter makes that is particularly lewed, I will comment on it. She knows I am watching so it does help. Her friends laugh whenever I do this.

Leave a Reply

